Interview: Howard University, PR/Fashion Merchandising Student


Fashion School: Howard University, Washington D.C.
Future Fashion Professional: Lauren-Paige Woulard
Major: Public Relations; Minor: Fashion Merchandising
Graduation Year: Dec 2010
Hometown: New Orleans, Louisiana
Her Site: www.25mag.com (Lauren is the Style Editor)

Ms. Lauren Woulard, Howard University

NIF: Why fashion?

LW: I chose fashion because it is the one thing that I think about 24/7. Ever since I was little I would look through fashion magazines and try to emulate the fashions I saw. It was kind of the one place that I felt I belonged.

NIF: When did you first realize you had a passion for fashion?

LW: I knew from an early age. Like I said earlier, I would beg my mom to buy me fashion magazines (until I could buy them myself), and spend hours playing dress-up. Everything about fashion just intrigued me-the way a person could be anyone they wanted to be through their clothes. As I grew older and really learned more about the industry, I knew that this is where I had to be. I constantly have so many ideas that run through my head –from fashion ensembles to different photo shoot ideas; it’s like I think about fashion even when I’m sleeping!!!

NIF: What is your favorite element of the fashion industry? (ex: product, designer, career, store…)

LW: My favorite element of the fashion industry would have to be PR. Not only because that’s what I want to do, but I love that it encompasses so many different things and job functions. You really learn how to do everything-not just one thing.

NIF: What is your proudest accomplishment thus far in your life?

LW: My proudest accomplishment is just making it this far and getting that much closer to my dream. When I was younger, I never would’ve thought that the day would come where I would ACTUALLY be starting my career, but I’m just so proud of myself for grinding so hard and really putting myself out there. I would’ve never gotten these internships and opportunities had I not taken a chance, and just went for what I wanted.

NIF: What are the top 3 reasons you chose to attend Howard University?

Click Here to Read More about Lauren’s Fashion Experience at Howard U!

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Leave a comment